For Individuals,For Plan Sponsors,Custom

ICMA-RC Honors Fallen Public Sector Employees by Providing Scholarships to their Families

August 11, 2020

The ICMA-RC Public Employee Memorial Scholarship Board of Directors is pleased to announce it has awarded nearly $60,000 in post-secondary educational scholarships to the 38 recipients listed below for the 2020-2021 academic year. Since its inception, the ICMA-RC Memorial Scholarship Fund has raised over $1.3 million and awarded more than 450 scholarships to surviving children and spouses of fallen public sector employees from across the nation.

“Despite this being a unique year, leaving families and schools facing uncertainty, we know these students have a bright future ahead of them,” said ICMA-RC CEO and President, Lynne Ford, who also serves as President of the ICMA-RC Public Employee Memorial Scholarship Fund.  “We are proud to be in a position to help make attending school in the fall a reality for these deserving students, whose parent or spouse made the ultimate sacrifice while serving their community.”

Recipients are selected based on qualifications such as, financial need, academic success, leadership in school and community activities, honors received and work experience. Individuals who apply must be the surviving child or spouse of a public employee who died in the line of duty. Students may choose to study at an accredited two- or four-year college or university or post-secondary vocational or technical school.

To learn more about the scholarship program and this year’s recipients, visit

Aliza DeVoe Fawn Grove, PA Millersville University
Ally N. Butler Lafayette, IN Ball State University
Bailey R. Fritz Mineral Ridge, OH Thiel College
Brielle M. Bellew Pearl River, NY Penn State University
Brock N. Butler Lafayette, IN Purdue University
Brycen Common Gold Beach, OR Southwestern Oregon Community College
Cassidy Holcomb Piedmont, AL Jacksonville State University
Catherine N. Nappi Farmingville, NY Fordham University
Colleen Byrne Kansas City, MO University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Cydni Holloway New Orleans, LA Emory University
Danielle Nichols Indianola, IA Buena Vista University
Emma R. Loveland Stewartstown, PA Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Erika Brentar Chicago, IL DePaul University
Erin Billa-Bolton Mobile, AL University of South Alabama
Gracie Abalos-McManus Swansboro, NC University of Pembroke
Jack O. Bellew Pearl River, NY Manhattan College
Jacob Martinez Raymondville, TX Sam Houston State University
Jared Nichols Indianola, IA Iowa State University
Jocelyn Fontanez-Rivera  Cidra, PR The University of Puerto Rico, Mayagüez Campus
Kaila Holloway Orleans, LA LSU Health Sciences Center-New Orleans
Katreana F. Bellew Pearl River, NY New York University
Keara G. Page Lowell, MA Union College
Kevin E. Townes Newburgh, NY Hartwick College
Larissa Jones Washington, IL Illinois Central College
Lauren Haist Flowery Branch, GA University of North Georgia
Mariah Darden Portsmouth, VA Virginia State University
Nicholas N. Nappi Farmingville, NY Fordham University
Rebecca E. Townes Newburgh, NY The College of Saint Rose
Rebekah Jones-Broadbent Virginia Beach, VA St. Leo University
Renise Bayne Waipahu, HI Wayland Baptist University
Sara R. Hain New Brighton, MN Stevens Institute of Technology
Savannah N. Flanscha York, PA Drexel University
Savannah Uhl Chandler, AZ University of Arizona
Stephanie Vidal-Echevarria Caguas, PR Ana G. Mendez University
Taylor Common Gold Beach, OR Northwest Christian University
Tiffany S. Bartholemew Pensacola, FL Pensacola State College
Trina Scott Woodlawn, TN Health Coach Institute
Tyler S. Rogow Emerson, NJ Savannah College of Art & Design
Return to top